While I was “Working”.

Because I have nothing to do at work, I decided “I haven’t taken the good ol’ Myers–Briggs Type Indicator test in a good while”. So, I Googled “MBTI” and off I went.

The first round that I went through (https://t.co/pq4w2WfaYb) gave me TWO results that I could be:

ISTP (Introversion Sensing Thinking Perception)

“If your closest personality type is ISTP then you have both a logical and a practical mind and therefore enjoy solving tangible problems. You are very interested in how things work, and may have a tendency to take things apart if you don’t know how they work. You may also enjoy using your craftsman like skills to fix things that are broken, or doing investigative work, collecting facts and clues to find out the truth of what has happened.”

“…you like making decisions on the basis of logic, using objective considerations, and are concerned with truth, principles and justice. You are analytical and critical, tending to see the flaws in situations and you usually (though not always) take an objective approach when dealing with people or problems.”

That pretty much fits me, it sounds about right. Then I kept reading and got to the section: “How ISTPs Might Irritate Others”.

Huh… OK, lets see where this goes.

“The potential ways in which an ISTP can irritate other team members includes focusing too much on the current task at the expense of longer term or interpersonal issues…Colleagues may find it frustrating if you don’t communicate fully your understanding of the situation, if you take shortcuts, of it (to them) it seems as if you flit from one thing to another.”

And that’s where you lost me. I don’t flit from one thing to another and if I don’t get something (or why you want it done a certain way), I let you know.

So, I say they sort of got me; however I also go the result of ISTJ:

Introverted Sensing Thinking Judgement

“…you are interested in clarity and knowledge. You like to observe and listen, and have a particular interest in facts and information which help you to develop as clear a knowledge as possible.”

Now, this actually sounds more like me. I want to know things. I find that the best way to learn is to shut up and observe. Then I read the irritating part.

“The potential ways in which an ISTJ can irritate others include focusing too much on the current task at the expense of longer term or interpersonal issues, not articulating your understanding of the situation…Others may see you as being too serious, seeming to be inflexible, not encouraging others to experiment or innovate, and not promoting his/her own ideas or contributions.”

OK, so maybe this is a little more like me. I want to get the job done & done right. I may not give you every detail, but I have the details. Just do what I tell you and how I tell you and we will get it done; however if you have a better way of doing it, I am up for hearing your idea (unless it’s stupid).

So, I thought I would take another test on a different site, and I did:

http://www.humanmetrics.com/

Here I got the score of INTJ:

Introverted iNtuitive Thinking Judging

This description was REALLY long, so I will just give the highlights:

“…INTJs may appear to project an aura of “definiteness”, of self-confidence. This self-confidence, sometimes mistaken for simple arrogance…”

Yeah, if it’s an area that I know about, I can come off as a dick sometimes.

“When it comes to their own areas of expertise — and INTJs can have several — they will be able to tell you almost immediately whether or not they can help you, and if so, how. INTJs know what they know, and perhaps still more importantly, they know what they don’t know.”

If it’s something that I know about and I feel that I can help, I do. If it’s something that I don’t know, but I know where I can probably get the answer at, I let you know that I can try. If it’s something that I simply have no clue about, then I am up-front and will tell you that I am clueless.

“INTJs are perfectionists, with a seemingly endless capacity for improving upon anything that takes their interest.”

Yep, if I am going to learn about something; then I am going to know everything and be an expert at it.

“Anyone considered to be “slacking,” including superiors, will lose their respect — and will generally be made aware of this; INTJs have also been known to take it upon themselves to implement critical decisions without consulting their supervisors or co-workers.”

Yep, if you are a lazy ass (or just appear incompetent or weak) and you think you are my boss, you better think again.

The rest was all about relationships and it pretty much made INTJ’s to be the stereotypical geek that cant talk to people and is socially awkward.

“Personal relationships, particularly romantic ones, can be the INTJ’s Achilles heel. ”

“This happens in part because many INTJs do not readily grasp the social rituals; for instance, they tend to have little patience and less understanding of such things as small talk and flirtation (which most types consider half the fun of a relationship). To complicate matters, INTJs are usually extremely private people…”

Well, that was kind of me in High-school, and I am a private person now days. I do have little patience for small talk.

Then at the bottom, I see this:

“Because you appear to have marginal or no (1%) preference of Judging over Perceiving, characteristics of more than one personality type may apply to you:”

INTP – Introverted iNtuitive Thinking Perceiving

“INTPs are pensive, analytical folks. They may venture so deeply into thought as to seem detached, and often actually are oblivious to the world around them.”

Hang on, we may be onto something here.

“INTPs will often correct others (or be sorely tempted to) if the shade of meaning is a bit off…”

Go on.

“INTPs are relatively easy-going and amenable to almost anything until their principles are violated, about which they may become outspoken and inflexible. They prefer to return, however, to a reserved albeit benign ambiance, not wishing to make spectacles of themselves.”

Yeah, keep talking.

“A major concern for INTPs is the haunting sense of impending failure. They spend considerable time second-guessing themselves.”

I am Jack’s blown mind.

The rest of what this was saying about INTPs was pretty spot on for me.

Especially this:

“Mathematics is a system where many INTPs love to play, similarly languages, computer systems–potentially any complex system. INTPs thrive on systems. Understanding, exploring, mastering, and manipulating systems can overtake the INTP’s conscious thought. This fascination for logical wholes and their inner workings is often expressed in a detachment from the environment, a concentration where time is forgotten…”

But then, I started thinking about it and it because true, I DO swing back and forth between INTJ & INTP and I have a few aspect of ISTP & ISTJ; however I do see the 2 main parts of my personality in all 4: Introverted & Thinking. I may change between Intuitive and Sensing and also Judging and Perceiving; however I am always Introverted and Thinking.

I don’t hold these tests as strong scientific evidence ( and neither does the psychological community), but they are fun to take and just look at where your head is at. I don’t let these define me, I define myself, but it’s good to know about yourself and have some perspective about what makes you, “you”.

Some good stuff to meditate on & maybe get some perspective.

Leave a Reply

