I Did a Thing.

As I said in my very first post, I used to blog on Tumblr (If you are reading this on Tumblr, I pretty much moved to WordPress) after I left here so many years ago. It was fun, it was hip and well… there were naked girls. Then Tumblr changed a little, I started noticing social issues popping up on my feeds. At the time I was active in social justice (especially in the LGBT community) and some of these other issues caught my attention. I learned new things about feminism, about LGBT rights, about women’s rights, about politics, about human rights, about white privilege and in the beginning it made sense and I was learning and I loved it.

Then it got a little crazy.

Suddenly, I was reading posts about cultural appropriation and how “all the white people” where taking away POC’s culture. How white women with dreads are the devil and how that a white person eating Mexican food is a neo-colonial pig. I read posts about the OUTRAGE of all the white people getting septum piercings are appropriating South-Asian culture. Now, some of the posts were valid. Wearing a Native America War Bonnet as a fashion accessory is something I find offensive (I am part Muskogee Indian), racial Halloween costumes in general are offensive, the glamorization of mental illness is offensive and body/fat shaming is offensive*; however eating a burrito isn’t a hate crime. Sharing our cultures are how we all learn about each other, form personal bonds and unite as a species. Some of these “outrages”, to me, promote segregation. It’s like a new form of Jim Crow laws, but enforced by angry hipsters.

(*Your health may be awesome now and you may be comfortable in your own skin now, but later down the road shit catches up with you. It’s your choice to do what you want with your body and no one gets to shame you for your size; however there’s a difference between shaming and someone trying to help you because they know what you are in for down the road health wise.)

I did miss some of the posts though, the art, the photography, (the naked girls) some of my followers that posted awesome content. I would try to drift over there from time to time and enjoy the stuff that was good, but I found myself being bombarded by the SJW stuff about honky hairstyle appropriation. I tried to trim the fat, so to speak, but it would just pop-up out of no where. Some of the posts were legit. Some, if not most, were basically how white people suck. The main thing that also drove me back to here was while on Tumblr I would constantly reblog. I rarely created anything. I barely typed anything out. I am now at a point were I need to write. I need to get things out of my head.

So, I did a thing.

I started sharing this blog over on Tumblr. My posts now share on Twitter and Tumblr. So, we will see how that goes. Part of me feels like I have opened Pandora’s box, but I think that I will get to have my cake and eat it, too.

Maybe with some coffee*.

(Don’t worry, it will be fair trade organic. 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

