This Post Has Many Names…

So, I now have nothing to watch on TV.  I have caught up on all of my DVR’ed shows and I now have to sit and wait for something to come on TV in order to watch it.

I am not a fan of this concept.

So, I had heard of this show “Lucifer” on Fox and I decided that I had better catch up on it before they cancel it after one season (Yeah, I am still bitter about Firefly). So, I go to the Fox On Demand channel and start do download all of the episodes. All like 5 of them. As I am watching The Mentalist “Lucifer” I can’t help but start to like the character. Blame it on Milton, but I am a sucker for a good Satan character and I kind of like this one. He’s an arrogant ass, but still kind of damaged. I mean, he’s in fucking therapy (no pun intended – err..just watch the show and you’ll get it) of all things. The show itself is a little overdone, you have elements from the previously mentioned “Mentalist”, some “Trueblood”, a pinch “Grimm” (mainly the visual effects)  and a bit of Al Pacino’s character in “The Devil’s Advocate” thrown in. I still liked it and set the DVR to record the series.

However, it made me think about all of the characterizations of Lucifer that are out there in literature, TV, and movies that take the character out of his “traditional” role. I mean you have him in “Paradise Lost” where is the “hero” by leading his rebel angels against heaven and then regrouping  to solidify his (and their) place in ruling hell and turning Adam & Eve against the will of g-d. So, the whole point of view is turned to make Lucifer look like the good guy.  I remember my wife was reading The Black Jewels Series where Satan (Saetan) was a somewhat lovable old man that ruled Hell (Hayll) and had two sons. Later he finds out he has a daughter that was a klutz but also the most powerful witch ever to exist and he just wants to get his family back together. His characterization was in a fictitious world, but he was a delightful character and a family man. So, you have to see the devil as a good guy, from a certain point of view sometimes, right?

Well…

Since Satan literally translates from Hebrew to English as “Adversary”, I don’t see how some people would. I mean the book where that character comes from paints him as the bad guy. It’s the opposite viewpoint of “Paradise Lost” and the people that read believe that book, aren’t really keen on looking at things from different perspectives. Trust me, I know. I used to be one of them and I can testify brothers and sisters:

They have not known nor understood: for he hath shut their eyes, that they cannot see; and their hearts, that they cannot understand.

Isaiah 44:18

However, I know that there are several good “biblical” representations of the devil in TV & films. Probably one of the best was played by Viggo Mortensen in “The Prophesy”. He basically manipulates and scares the crap out of the humans in this movie to get his agenda done. He is also apathetic, horrific and only concerned about himself, which is really what Lucifer was all about. In the bible, he believed he was equal to (if not better than) g-d; however he wasn’t good at math because he only rallied 1/3rd of the angels to his cause. 2/3 > 1/3 is probably what Lucifer would have had to contemplate in hell for all eternity (goddamn fractions).  As previously mentioned, I love the way Al Pacino played him in “The Devil’s Advocate”. That also is more or less a biblical portrayal of Lucifer. He tries to tempt a victim to worship him and give into their desires all to forward his agenda. This is a classical biblical portrayal, he did the same thing to Jesus and a few other characters in that book.

Now there are several others that I could mention; however I really don’t want to write a 2000 word post about the use of Lucifer in literature/TV/Movies.  This was honestly just a random thought that went through my head as I was watching this new show. I just really noticed how versatile this character can be; however the audience cannot always be versatile with the character (which is what I thought of while typing this post) being used in whatever medium he is being used in. I don’t see church home groups meeting up to watch Lucifer on … whatever night it comes on, or the Wednesday Night Youth Group discussing Mark Twain’s “The Mysterious Stranger” or Dante.  So, that’s my random thought post and I honestly don’t know how to end this and I could continue to babble on and on through my keyboard for awhile. So, here’s a jacked up cartoon that was inspired by Mark Twain’s “The Mysterious Stranger”.

 

 

Thank’s for reading!

Leave a Reply

