Books on Art

When I was in sales and even just in life. I read one book that impacted me greatly. It changed and shaped the way that I thought and acted on my decisions.  That book was:

 

the-art-of-war-9780804830805_hr

“All warfare is based on deception. Hence, when we are able to attack, we must seem unable; when using our forces, we must appear inactive; when we are near, we must make the enemy believe we are far away; when far away, we must make him believe we are near.”
― Sun Tzu

“In the midst of chaos, there is also opportunity”
― Sun Tzu

“Thus the expert in battle moves the enemy, and is not moved by him.”
― Sun Tzu

“Ponder and deliberate before you make a move.”
― Sun Tzu

“many calculations lead to victory, and few calculations to defeat”
― Sun Tzu

“Know thy self, know thy enemy. A thousand battles, a thousand victories.”
― Sun Tzu

“A leader leads by example not by force.”
― Sun Tzu

“The wise warrior avoids the battle.”
― Sun Tzu

These were some of my favorites and ones that impacted me the most. Mind you, a lot of these I applied to sales (especially the first one) and retail managment; however the more I read it, and re-read it the more I saw that it applied to more than selling blu-ray players and laptops. It applied to gaming, logical/critical thinking, and just life in general (no pun intended). It’s been awhile since I have read it, but a lot of these philosophies still stick with me. Especially when he talks about the 5 constant factors, specifically Heaven & Earth. Basically, in warfare, you need to know the climate and the terrain that you will be marching into. I took this into life as always be aware of your surroundings. Know what’s happening around you. Know where you are going and plan accordingly. To me, this book is pure logical/critical thinking and I love it.

However, I am now diving into a new book that is in no way related to “The Art of War”.

823f325b1928b602a28ce1e5fb88e4af

This is a battle that I cannot (and probably should not) avoid. I have read the preface and that is it. I am planning on taking a highlighter and a note pad and making notes while reading this book. So that I can put what I read, into practice.

“Let your plans be dark and impenetrable as night, and when you move, fall like a thunderbolt.”
― Sun Tzu

Yeah, like a thunderbolt of fucking empathy!

OK, maybe that isn’t a good example, but you get the idea.

I will be digging into this book and probably posting thoughts/journal entries on it (you have been warned) and hopefully Karla McLaren and Sun Tzu can both get along up there in my brain and form a logical, but more empathic me. Yeah, that’s what I am shooting for.

Or I just may make my head explode.

explodingalienhead

Leave a Reply

