WWJD? About Labels?

A growing trend that is occurring in the Atheist community is being labeled a “Professing Atheist”.  The thing is, people that do this may not know it’s offensive.

Now, if you are an atheist, and you are called this, don’t just start yelling or beating the person for calling you a liar. Again, they may not know that they are doing something wrong, and you may not even know why it’s wrong.

I picked up on it because of this video (his entire series is pretty good):

 

As Matt explains, this label stems from Psalms 14

The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God. They are corrupt, they have done abominable works, there is none that doeth good.

And Romans 1

18The wrath of God is being revealed from heaven against all the godlessness and wickedness of people, who suppress the truth by their wickedness, 19 since what may be known about God is plain to them, because God has made it plain to them. 20For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.

Basically, they are saying we really do believe in g-d. We are apparently just being dicks about it and are just saying that we don’t or The Devil has us under his spell or… some other supernatural spiritual reason.

(Also, the part about challenging the use of the word “know” is pure genius!)

After watching this video I started wondering if this really was a thing. All of my friends are either like minded, or know better than to open that can of worms with me. So, I don’t get a lot of debate thrown my way.

So…

TO THE INTERNET!

After a Google search of “Professing Atheist” I came across a few sites, one that I may have to even post separately about because it was so full of shit, that show that this is a growing issue in the Atheist community.

It is a way of delegitimizing them. A self-professed priest for example would mean that only that person recognizes his position and that everyone else thinks he is crazy.

http://www.dangeroustalk.net/?p=2729

This makes sense to me. “Oh he ‘professes’ to be an Atheist” almost sounds like being called a poser or charlatan. It is demoralizing and diminishing.

Some Christians maintain that there are no atheists. They believe, of course, that some people profess to be atheists. But according to them these people suffer from a form of self-delusion. The doubters insist that in their heart of hearts people who profess not to believe in God really do.

http://infidels.org/library/modern/michael_martin/no_atheists.html

Well, that kind of backs up what the video was saying, but do Christians actually say that?

Professing Atheist Delivers Invocation at Michigan City Hall Meeting
http://christiannews.net/2015/12/30/professing-atheist-delivers-invocation-at-michigan-city-hall-meeting/

Huh…well I guess they do.

While atheism is the ultimate intellectual suicide…When he professed atheism it gave me the opportunity to humbly cite my atheist credentials. I said, “I wrote a book called God Doesn’t Believe in Atheists: Proof the Atheist Doesn’t Exist.”

http://christiananswers.net/evangelism/beliefs/atheism.html

OK, OK, whoa… I get it they do say it. A lot apparently. It’s their new spiel; however like Matt says in the video, by saying that we are “professing” they are adopting a burden of proof. The burden of proof is that they can read your/our/my mind. I know what I believe. I believe that there are no g-ds. That something did come from nothing and that the universe is one vast beautiful chaotic thing that no one is in control of. That is what I believe. The person labeling me as the “professing atheist” now has to prove they can read my mind. That they have communication with a higher power that can give them information that will allow them to know me better than I know myself. When they fail, that means they are wrong. That their g-d didn’t give them correct information (which means their g-d is not perfect), they interpreted the information wrong, or that their g-d doesn’t exist.

Maybe people should just not use labels. Maybe that should be a thing that people look into?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

