Justice (Revisited).

“I think offence is the collateral damage of freedom of speech. But just because you are offended doesn’t mean you’re right.

– Ricky Gervais

 

I have a confession to make. I go on Tumblr and I am not a SJW. Matter of fact, I cannot stand 90% of the SJW posts that I see…well, anywhere. This doesn’t mean that I am pro-MRA, anti-feminist, anti-LGBT, transphobic, xenophobic, racist, or a bigot. This means that I hold my own views and stand up for what I believe in without giving into the current SJW movement and into the current Outrage Culture.

Why am I bringing this up?

Because I just went through my Tumblr and cleaned up my feed and eliminated some followers.

Look, if you have views that you believe in then that’s awesome. I would love to have an open and rational discussion about them (preferably over coffee); however ,when & if I do not agree with you, it will not be OK to shout “PATRIARCHY” at me or go on a tirade of how I am wrong and a horrible person that needs to check my privilege.

If you don’t have any idea of what the fuck I am talking about let’s get caught up:

2 definitions of Social Justice Warrior (SJW) that I found that pretty much sum it up.

Social justice warrior is a pejorative term for an individual promoting socially progressive views; including feminism, civil rights, multiculturalism, political correctness, and identity politics

social justice warrior
A pejorative term for an individual who repeatedly and vehemently engages in arguments on social justice on the Internet, often in a shallow or not well-thought-out way, for the purpose of raising their own personal reputation. A social justice warrior, or SJW, does not necessarily strongly believe all that they say, or even care about the groups they are fighting on behalf of.
(pejorative: expressing contempt or disapproval.)

Apparently the term was once a positive title used by progressives until its decline between 2009-2012.  The term “social justice warrior” was first used as a pejorative in the blog “Social Justice Warriors: Do Not Engage”, launched by Will Shetterly on 6 November 2009. Its further decline has been accredited to “Gamergate” (I have no idea) and to the rise of Men’s Rights Activists (MRAs). Its perjoration is also due to the SJWs themselves.

One “issue” that SJWs took up that lead to their decline was to combat “manspreading“. Apparently some men were on buses, subways and other forms of public transportation and sitting with their legs open wide and taking up too much space, like an asshole. Now, the campaign was not only because guys sitting with their legs spread can take up more room, but because it is a form of sexual harassment.

Because, in case you hadn’t noticed, it is women, not men, who are constantly being harassed and assaulted — by men — on the bus. It is women who must spend their entire commute to work in a panic because some man has decided to sit next to her with his hand purposefully touching her thigh, it is women who have to worry about being flashed or groped by a man who is sitting next to them on the bus, it is women who are sexually harassed and “chatted up” by men within a confined space from which they have no escape.

Now, I refuse to even dismiss the fact that women get sexually harassed EVERYWHERE; however if I am sitting on a bus or a subway or whatever, I am not going to cross my legs (mainly because I can’t) and no amount of leg crossing (since it doesn’t reduce the size of my hips and thighs) is going to significantly reduce the amount of space that I take up. Now, I do think that it is a dick move to just get on public transportation and take up as much space as you possibly can, no matter what your gender is. I think in general everyone needs to respect personal space and just be respectful to one another, period.

I have read posts on Tumblr were SJWs were dogpiling on a white girl that got braids and claiming cultural appropriation. SJWs call back to the days of colonialism and talk about how “privileged white people” just take from other cultures. Apparently, these SJWs don’t understand how cultural integration works. Cultures meet and share things. We share food, art, fashion, technology, knowledge and literature.  So, when I read another similar post regarding white people eating Mexican food as appropriation and colonialism, I just blew off the whole SJW movement. It’s misguided, uneducated, and has an almost segregated, totalitarian view which I find hilarious since a lot of SJWs call others facists. Basically, SJWs usually take shit WAY out of context and create their own outrage, like this:

This little “Patriarchy Smasher” took a quote from Emmeline Pankhurst during the women’s suffrage movement in the UK and equated it the US Civil War. This caused such a backlash that Time Out London had to print this statement regarding this matter:

For a recent photoshoot to document ‘Suffragette’, the first feature film to tell the story of the violent and historic struggle of women in the UK for equal rights including the right to vote, Time Out London invited the lead actresses from ‘Suffragette’ to wear t-shirts with the slogan: ‘I’d rather be a rebel than a slave’.
This is a quote from a 1913 speech given by Emmeline Pankhurst, one of the historic British suffragettes whose fight for equality is portrayed in the movie. The original quote was intended to rouse women to stand up against oppression – it is a rallying cry, and absolutely not intended to criticise those who have no choice but to submit to oppression, or to reference the Confederacy, as some people who saw the quote and photo out of context have surmised.
Pankhurst’s full quote was: ‘I know that women, once convinced that they are doing what is right, that their rebellion is just, will go on, no matter what the difficulties, no matter what the dangers, so long as there is a woman alive to hold up the flag of rebellion. I would rather be a rebel than a slave.’
Time Out published the original feature online and in print in the UK a week ago. The context of the photoshoot and the feature were absolutely clear to readers who read the piece. It has been read by at least half a million people in the UK and we have received no complaints.

They didn’t receive any complaints because they know their history. How does my Texas born ass know it too? I watched “Horrible Histories” on Hulu. Yeah, a kids show from the UK with a puppet rat on CBBC, but this SJW had an overwhelming sense of self importance on US History, that a movie or anything else couldn’t possibly be made about another country’s history. I think it’s even more hilarious that this SJW was actually leading a campaign against a movie that was telling the story about the women’s suffrage movement in the UK (The Suffragette Movement).   Funny thing is, in the barrage of tweets that the SJW sent out, a guy actually told her this:

@FergusMason1 Feb 3
@OpinionessWorld It’s about middle-class Englishwomen in 1912. How many “women of colour” do you think were involved, you fucking plank?

Of course, he probably would just be dogpiled for mansplaining things anyway.

Now, don’t get me wrong, there is a difference between an activist and a SJW. One has an educated viewpoint and can eloquently skillfully debate their views the other cannot and just starts outrage on social media. Activists are people like Malala Yousafzai, Joan Baez, or Medgar Evers. People that ACT to make change in their world. Not cause outrage in the hivemind that is Twitter, Reddit and Tumblr. Then there are people in between that have their own views and are not going to give in to the Orwellian INGSOC ways of the SJW and the current Outrage Culture that has spawned forth from them and honestly are too scared to go to a protest rally and face arrest or violence. I am one of those “In Betweeners” and I am a feminist, I believe that there is a gender wage gap, that women are not treated equally in this society, they are objectified, and (IMO) psychologically tortured by being made to think that their worth is based on their appearance and that does need to change immediately. I do believe we live in a Patriarchal society brought on by the dominance of Abrahamic religions around the world and that mindset also needs to change. I believe that LGBT people are also not fairly treated, protected and represented in this country, they are a target of violence and that definitely needs to change now; however  I will be damned if I am going to be bullied by what I believe is the liberal/progressive version of the fucking Tea Party into believing in things and following mindsets that I do not believe in or agree with.

Some of the SJW points that are made are relevant ( a lot are not), but their methods are not constructive and they just fuel the outrage culture that is in America today. Outrage Culture kills dialogue and closes minds. If we silence the voices of people that hold different views from us, then we kill our ability to learn and our ability to teach. New viewpoints, and being challenged is what makes us smarter, makes us (actually) tolerant, and helps us learn to thrive and survive. The definition that we have of tolerance now days is “get on board with my ideals or fuck off”.  President Obama even talked about this at a college speech that he gave. Between the SWJs of the Left and the Fundamentalists of the Right, it’s no wonder why we can’t get anything done around here about the major issues that plague this country today.

Why am I writing this? Because when I see some SJW post that is beyond stupid, or smug, it pisses me off. It pisses me off almost, if not more than when I see some conservative nonsense that gets posted. I mentioned earlier that I have my own views. Want to know how I got them? By listening. I listened to the SJWs, and to the Conservatives, and to everyone in between and then I thought about what was said and then I came to my own conclusions. When the topic would come up I would express my views and would either get into an argument, a debate, or a discussion and if it was a topic that I was passionate about, I would look into activism and see what I could do to influence change. No matter which of those occurred, my viewpoint either was reaffirmed or changed in some way.

Having an ideology and sticking to your guns for what you believe is never a bad thing. Jumping to a conclusion on a subject that you have no knowledge on is always a horrible idea.

Just remember that new information can become available at any time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

